top of page
Search
  • The Humble Veggie

Eggless Chocolate Drip Cake

I always see drip cakes online and wonder how one person has that much time to devote to a cake. Lockdown as definitely changed my opinion on that. I won't lie to you people - this cake was hard, it was a test of my skill and patience but extremely rewarding. Hey - at least now when I'm scrolling on Instagram I can think to myself 'been there done that!'


For this cake, I baked in a large rectangular oven dish and then measured squares (yes, I actually brought a ruler into the kitchen) of my desired size and stacked each layer with dark chocolate ganache.

CAKE INGREDIENTS!

  • 224g of self raising flour

  • 96g of cocoa

  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

  • 1 tsp salt

  • 220g sugar

  • 112g coconut oil

  • 120g yoghurt

  • 120ml milk

  • 2 tsp vanilla

  • 2 tsp coffee

  • 178ml hot water

  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

METHOD

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius

  2. Sift the self raising flour, cocoa, baking soda and powder, and lastly salt into a bowl

  3. Combine sugar and coconut oil well

  4. Add yoghurt, milk, vinegar, to the mixture of sugar and coconut oil

  5. Mix the coffee and hot water then add to the liquid mixture

  6. Add the sifted ingredients in stages ensuring that there are no lumps

  7. Pour the batter into a greased large baking tin, place in the oven and bake for 35 minutes

GANACHE INGREDIENTS

  • 300g of dark chocolate

  • 150g of double cream

GANACHE METHOD

  1. heat the chocolate until melted

  2. add the double cream and stir until combined

DECORATION TIPS!

This cake was so time consuming because of the many trips to the fridge to harden the ganache. Do not underestimate this step - it is the only reason the cake had a well defined square shape. I completed 3 full layers of ganache before moving onto the drip stage. For the white drip icing I used 50g of white chocolate and 25g of double cream to create another ganache, but this time I placed the mixture into a piping bag and carefully piped around the cake. The chocolate frosting swirls were whipped butter cream but any type of piping fristing should work. Also in between each frosting swirl I placed a piece of biscoff.


The chocolate shards were created by melting both white and dark chocolate and spreading this in a marbled pattern (which I completed with a toothpick) on baking paper. Then I placed the baking paper into the fridge for 30 minutes - the chocolate should peel off easily and you can stick shards into the cake


The chocolate cup was made by spreading chocolate around the inside of a mini cupcake case then placing this into the fridge. After the chocolate had hardened, I peeled off the case and crumbled biscoff into my completed chocolate case.


Other than that, I crumbled any remaining cake onto the top of the cake and empty spots i decorated with chocolate pieces.


Feel free to tag us on Instagram if you have tried this recipe, we love looking at people's recreations!


Yours,


The Humble Veggie x




15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cinnamon and Chocolate Flapjacks

These are so quick and easy to make, they only take 20 minutes total from food processor to mouth! Next time I attempt to make these, I'm going to try adding some desiccated coconut to the mix - I'll

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page